Resistance leaders call for peaceful protests on Friday

Slapping of PSA on Aasiya Andrabi, Fehmeeda Sofi denounced

Srinagar, May 17 (KMS): In occupied Kashmir, the joint resistance leadership comprising Syed Ali Gilani, Mirwaiz Umar Farooq and Muhammad Yasin Malik has called for peaceful protests on Friday (May 19) after Juma prayers against the slapping of draconian law, Public Safety Act on Dukhtaran-e-Millat Chairperson, Aasiya Andrabi, and her associate, Fehmeeda Sofi.

Syed Ali Gilani, Mirwaiz Umar Farooq and Muhammad Yasin Malik in a joint statement issued in Srinagar said that the protests would also be aimed at demanding release of all Kashmiri political prisoners. They termed the act of slapping of PSA on Aasiya Andrabi and Fehmeeda Sofi as the worst form of state terrorism. They said that the puppet administration was following “Doval Doctrine” and had waged war against the civilian population in the occupied territory.

“Aasiya Andrabi is suffering from multiple ailments and shifting her and Fahmeeda Sofi to Kot Bhalwal Jail in Jammu will put their lives in danger. Aasiya Andrabi needs specialised medical consultation but instead she along with her secretary was shifted to Jammu where climate is extreme and adverse. This is extremely shameful on part of the so-called authorities and highly condemnable,” the leaders said. They warned the puppet regime of serious consequences if anything untoward happened to the ailing woman leader.

The resistance leaders also demanded immediate release of Masarrat Aalam Butt, Ameer Hamza Shah, Bashir Ahmad Boya, Meer Hafeezullah, Mohammad Yousuf Lone and hundreds of other illegally detained Hurriyet leaders and activists. “Those arrested during the mass uprising in 2016 are still languishing in different jails and police stations and their detention period is being prolonged on one pretext or the other,” they said. Syed Ali Gilani, Mirwaiz Umar Farooq and Muhammad Yasin Malik said that scores of detainees were in unlawful custody and police were reluctant to produce them in any court. They appealed to the world human rights bodies to take cognizance of the matter and use their good offices to secure immediate release of the Kashmiri detainees.

Meanwhile, Hurriyet leaders and organizations including Shabbir Ahmed Shah, Agha Syed Hassan Al-Moosvi Al-Safvi, Nayeem Ahmad Khan, Zamrood Habib, Yasmeen Raja, Farida Bahenji, Muhammad Yousuf Naqash, Bilal Siddiqui, Farooq Ahmad Dar, Shabbir Ahmad Dar, Muhammad Iqbal Mir, Muhammad Ahsan Untoo, Imtiyaz Ahmad Reshi, Ghulam Nabi War, Ghulam Qadir Rah, Haji Muhammad Ramzan and Jamaat-e-Islami of occupied Kashmir in their statement condemned the slapping of PSA on Aasiya Andrabi and Fehmeeda Sofi. They termed the action as an act of political vendetta. They also denounced the arrest of Hurriyet leader, Mushtaq-ul-Islam, and continued illegal detention of Masarrat Aalam Butt, Dr Muhammad Qasim Fakhtoo, Ghulam Muhammad Khan Sopori, Farooq Tawheedi and hundreds of other leaders and activists and demanding their immediate release.

Check Also

APHC-AJK holds demo in Islamabad against Indian atrocities in IIOJK

Islamabad, May 28 (KMS): The All Parties Hurriyat Conference Azad Jammu and Kashmir (APHC-AJK) chapter …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *