Srinagar, June 12 (KMS): In occupied Kashmir, the All Parties Hurriyet Conference (APHC) Chairman, Syed Ali Gilani has denounced continued illegal detention of many Hurriyet leaders and demanded their release before Eidul Fitr.

Syed Ali Gilani in a statement issued in Srinagar referred to detention of Hurriyet leaders including Masarrat Aalam Butt, Aasiya Andrabi, Fahmeeda Sofi, Mohammad Rustum Butt, Ameer Hamza Shah, Mir Hafiz Ullah, Mohammad Yusuf Falahi, Raies Ahmad Mir ,Mohammad Shaban Dar, Ab Gani Bhat, Danish Malik, Mushtaq Ahmad Hura, Mohammad Rafiq Ganai, Showkat Ahmad Hakim, Tariq Ahmad Gaia, Mohammad Yusuf Butt, Mohammad Yusuf Makroo, Mohammad Amin Ahangar, Abdul Hamid Parey, Sarjan Barkati and Mohammad Shafi Wagey and said that since long the prisoners have been languishing in different jails.

He said that life prisoners including Dr Mohammad Qasim Fakhtoo, Dr Shafi Shariati, Ghulam Qadir Butt and 50 others have been awarded life sentence and hence languishing in different jails.

Syed Ali Gilani said that during people’s uprising in 2016, more than twenty thousand pro-freedom people and activists were arrested and more than five hundred are still detained either in interrogation centres or in different jails.

He expressed his deep concern and said despite sufficient space and accommodation in four jails in valley, scores of detainees are lodged in Jammu in the extreme temperatures. Authorities are subjecting prisoners to vengeance, he added.

He appealed to international human rights organizations to take cognizance and use influence for immediate release of all detainees and provide proper medical treatment.

Leave a Reply

Kashmir Media Service | Login
%d bloggers like this: