Yasin Malik pays tributes to Dr Qazi Merajud Din » Kashmir Media Service

Srinagar, September 27 (KMS): In occupied Kashmir, the Chairman of Jammu and Kashmir Liberation Front, Muhammad Yasin Malik while paying tributes to physician Doctor Qazi Merajud Din Munshi has said that his demise has marked an end to a golden page of Kashmir’s resistance and freedom struggle.

Doctor Qazi Merajud Din Munshi breathed his last at Soura hospital in Srinagar, yesterday. Thousands of people including JKLF and other resistance leaders, activists, doctors, lawyers and intellectuals participated in his funeral prayers. He was laid to rest at his ancestral graveyard in Malakhah area of Srinagar. Yasin Malik said that Doctor Qazi Merajud Din Munshi was an ideologue of JKLF, great freedom fighter and physician.

Emotional scenes were witnessed on the occasion as admirers and students of the late doctor bid farewell to great humble soul. Yasin Malik said that Doctor Qazi was associated with freedom struggle from his school and college days. “In 1990, when Kashmiris led by JKLF, started a peoples revolution, Doctor Merajud Din joined it and along with martyr doctor Abdul Ahad Guru, martyr professor Abdul Ahad Wani, Professor Abdul Rehaman Wani, late Architect Jeelani and others and provided a selfless intellectual backing to people’s revolution,” he said.

He said Doctor Merajud Din had to bear torture and jail during that time but never budged before tyranny and oppression.

Meanwhile, funeral prayers in absentia were held at many places in Azad Kashmir, Pakistan and other world capitals for late Doctor Merajud Din. In Rawalpindi, the funeral in absentia was led by former AJK Prime Minster Azad Kashmir, Sardar Ateeq Ahmad Khan.

Others who participated in the funeral included Khwaja Ghulam Ahmed Butt, M. Rafiq Dar, Saleem Haroon, Manzoor A. Chishti, Sardar Anwar, Zahid Hussain, Saleem Butt, Mirza Khursheed, Manzoor A. Khan, Adv. Touseef Jarral, M. Afzal Baig, Jaleel Fareed, Malik Raheem, Sardar Hanief and others. APHC leaders including Mehmood Ahmad Saghar, Syed Faiz Naqshbandi, Yousuf Naseem, Abdul Majeed Mir, Sheikh M. Yaqoob, Aijaz A. Rehmani, Mian Muzaffar Ahmed, M. Sultan and Fahdullah Khateeb.

Leave a Reply

Kashmir Media Service | Login