Kashmiris asked to boycott election drama » Kashmir Media Service

APHC executive council meeting disallowed in IOK

Srinagar, December 28 (KMS): In occupied Kashmir, the Joint Resistance Leadership while strongly reacting to the announcement made by the Indian authorities about the local bodies’ elections has appealed people to completely boycott election drama.

The leadership comprising Syed Ali Gilani, Mirwaiz Umar Farooq and Muhammad Yasin Malik in a statement issued in Srinagar, today, said that the Indian rulers and their Kashmiri stooges had been using these elections to harm the interests of the Kashmiri people and their struggle for right to self-determination. The leaders said that participating in any such elections would strengthen the illegal occupation of India in Jammu and Kashmir. They said that panchayat elections were an attempt to impose fascist rule of Rashtriya Swayam Sevak Sangh in the occupied territory.

Resistance leaders, Mirwaiz Umar Farooq and Muhammad Yasin Malik in their statements said that the ban imposed by the puppet administration on government employees and their family members to express political views on social networking sites was a despotic move, aimed at suppressing the truth about Jammu and Kashmir and the aspirations of its people. Many media outlets also condemned the gag.

Meanwhile, complete shutdown was observed on the third consecutive day, today, in Pulwama district against the killing of Noor Mohammed Tantray. All shops, business establishments, government and private offices remained closed while traffic was off the roads. Tantray was killed by Indian troops during a cordon and search operation in Samboora area of the district.

The puppet authorities foiled a meeting called by the All Parties Hurriyat Conference Chairman, Syed Ali Gilani at his residence in Srinagar, today. The personnel of police and paramilitary forces were deployed in strength and all roads leading to the residence of the octogenarian leader were blocked with barbed wires. No one was allowed to enter the venue. Syed Ali Gilani is undergoing house detention since 2010.

Indian authorities detained Mirwaiz Umar Farooq, Muhammad Ashraf Sehrai, Bilal Siddiqui, Omar Aadil Dar, Molvi Bashir Irfani, Ghulam Ahmad Gulzar, Ghulam Nabi Sumjhi, Ashraf Laya, Zafar Akbar Butt and Javed Ahmad Mir in jail or under house detention. Mirwaiz Umar Farooq was scheduled to address a religious gathering at Dastgeer Sahab shrine in Srinagar, today. Mukhtar Ahmad Waza is already detained at Saddar Police Station in Islamabad.

Leave a Reply

Kashmir Media Service | Login