Kashmir Seminar held at European Parliament in Brussels » Kashmir Media Service

Brussels, June 22 (KMS): A Kashmir seminar was held at the European Parliament in Brussels under the auspices of Friends of Kashmir in coalition with the Jammu Kashmir Self-Determination Movement International (JKSDMI).

Anthea McIntyre, MEP, and Co-Chairperson of Friends of Kashmir in the European Parliament and Richard Corbett, MEP and Co-Chairperson of Friends of Kashmir in the European Parliament chaired the seminar.

The JKSDMI Chairman, Raja Najabat Hussain briefed the participants about the situation on the Line of Control and killing of innocent Kashmiris by Indian troops. He condemned the recent brutal murder of Syed Shujaat Bukhari, Editor of a Srinagar-based English daily. Furthermore he gave a presentation on the recent report of the Chief Commissioner of UNHRC, Geneva, Switzerland, on the human rights violations in Kashmir and also shared details about All-Party Parliamentary Kashmir Group (APPG) in the British Parliament, which produced an interim report of their enquiry on human rights violations in Kashmir.

Anthea McIntyre MEP said, “We should try to resolve the Kashmir dispute.” She also announced holding of International Kashmir Conference in European Parliament in September 2018.

Other MEPs said Kashmir is a very dangerous conflict between two atomic powers and ‘we should try to do something to resolve the matter for the peace and stability of the South Asian region. They condemned the massive human rights violations by the Indian troops in Kashmir and said the Kashmiris should be given a chance to decide their future by themselves.

MEP Faye Kent, Alex Mayer, James Carver, John Howarth, Michael Gahler, Theresa Griffin, Wajid Khan, Amjad Bashir, Julie Ward, and Harry Boota, Director Administrative JKSDMI, Anthony Crasner Secretary to the Board Kashmir Council European Union, Ms Naghmana A Hashmi, Pakistan High Commissioner to Belgium, Councillor Yasmeen Dar, Chairperson JKSDMI UK, Shahida Jarral, Chairperson JKSDMI London, Hannah Phillips, Faye Kem, Asif H Memon, Saqib Rauf, Polykarpos Adamidis, Chaudhry Naeem, Mirza Asif Jarral, Abdul Qadeer, Umair Baig and others were also present on the occasion.

Leave a Reply

Kashmir Media Service | Login