Srinagar, August 13 (KMS): In occupied Kashmir, the Chairman of Tehreek-e-Hurriyat Jammu and Kashmir, Mohammad Ashraf Sehrai has lashed out at jail authorities of Tihar over inhuman treatment meted out to Dukhtran-e-Millat leaders.

Mohammad Ashraf Sehrai in a statement issued in Srinagar said that Aasiya Andrabi and her two associates, Fehmeeda Sofi and Nahida Nasreen were placed in a solitary confinement in three separate cells. He said: “We have reports that they are being targeted inhumanly. They are political prisoners and putting women folk in a solitary confinement is a barbaric act.”

He said the DeM leaders are being tortured psychologically, mentally and physically, adding: “These political prisoners too have rights according to Geneva Convention to which India is a signatory. So they must be dealt with according to that.”

“Unavailability of medicines and medical care and sub-standard quality of food is taking toll on their health. Even the visitors and relatives who come to see them in jail are also harassed and tormented by the jail authorities,” he added.

Mohammad Ashraf Sehrai said relatives of Aasiya Andrabi, Fahmeeda Sofi and Nahida Nasreen revealed that they are being provided food through locked iron bars and not allowed to come out of the solitary confinement.

He also condemned the arrest spree in various parts of Kashmir, saying India has declared war on Kashmiri people on the eve of its Independence Day, August 15. He said: “India has no moral and political authority to celebrate such occasions till their illegal rule continues in Kashmir. Such suppressive steps would never dislodge resistance leaders from taking the struggle to its logical conclusion.”

He also denounced the ill treatment meted out with relatives of Shahid Yousuf by Tihar jail authorities, by not allowing them to meet him, despite came from such a long distance. Jail authorities also treated harshly and unethically with other Hurriyat leaders including Dr Ghulam Mohammad Butt, Altaf Ahmad Shah, Ayaz Akbar, Peer Saifullah, Raja Mehraj-ud-din, Shabir Ahmad Shah, Nayeem Ahmad Khan, Shahid-ul-Islam, Farooq Ahmad Dar, Mohammad Aslam and Zahoor Ahmad Watali.

Leave a Reply

Kashmir Media Service | Login