Shutdown in poll-bound areas of IOK tomorrow » Kashmir Media Service

Srinagar, October 15 (KMS): In occupied Kashmir, complete shutdown will be observed in the areas where India is going to stage an election drama for the fourth phase of local bodies’ elections in the territory, tomorrow.

Call for the strike has been given by the Joint Resistance Leadership comprising Syed Ali Gilani, Mirwaiz Umar Farooq and Muhammad Yasin Malik as a mark of complete boycott of the bogus elections. The leadership has urged people to stage total boycott of the sham elections.

The Joint Resistance Leadership while terming the election drama a military operation said that had the rulers even an iota of self esteem or a slight trace of respect for their so-called democracy, they would have not caged the leaders and political workers thereby exhibiting a one man show to achieve their goal of conducting shame elections.

Strict restrictions have been imposed across the territory, particularly in poll-bound areas of Srinagar, Baramulla, Pulwama, Shopian, Islamabad and Gandarbal to make the election drama a success. Besides 400 companies of paramilitary Central Reserve Police Force, 50,000 additional troops have been deployed in the territory for the conduct of the farcical elections.

Hurriyat leaders Syed Ali Gilani, Mirwaiz Mohammad Umar Farooq and Mohammad Ashraf Sehrai continue to remain under house arrest, while Mohammad Yasin Malik is detained at Kothibagh sub jail. Ghulam Ahmad Gulzar and Hakeem Abdur Rasheed are lodged at Kot bhalwal, Nisar Hussain Rather, Mohammad Yousuf Naqash, Mohammad Ashraf Laya, Mir Hafizullah, Raies Ahmad Mir, Noor Mohammad Kalwal, Showkat Ahmad Bakshi, Mohammad Yaseen Aatai, Syed Imtiyaz Haider, Ashiq Hussain Narchoor, Sartaj Ahmad, Danish Ahmad and hundreds of other activists are either lodged in jails or in police stations.

Leave a Reply

Kashmir Media Service | Login