Sehrai decries detainees’ thrashing in Srinagar jail » Kashmir Media Service

Srinagar, April 06 (KMS): In occupied Kashmir, senior APHC leader and the Chairman of Tehreek-e-Hurriyat Jammu and Kashmir, Muhammad Ashraf Sehrai has expressed serious concern over the thrashing of jail inmates in Srinagar Central Jail and termed it as extremely inhuman.

Muhammad Ashraf Sehrai in a statement issued in Srinagar said the way jail authorities are treating all these prisoners is complete violation of jail manual. He said the ghastly act has put the lives of all Kashmiri political prisoners at risk. He urged the authorities to provide suitable treatment and facilities to all prisoners and ensure their security and safety. He said the detainees are subjected to political vengeance.

The authorities even ignore the ruling of Indian Supreme Court regarding prisoners wherein it has clearly directed the authorities to lodge detainees in the jail near their homes, he added.

Muhammad Ashraf Sehrai said those claiming to be the champions of democracy are violating the basic norms of humanity while treating these detainees in total violations of norms set by the international community. These detainees are not criminals involved in any offence but they represent political aspiration of their people and subjecting them to physical torture reflects the mindset of authorities, he added.

Tehreek-e-Hurriyat Chairman said political prisoners are ill-treated and humiliated for their affiliation with the ongoing freedom struggle, adding that every now and then, the detainees are mercilessly beaten and thrashed and later put in small cells and solitary confinement.

Hailing the commitment and steadfastness of the detainees, the Tehreek-e-Hurriyat Chairman urged the international human rights organizations including Asia Watch and Amnesty International to come to the rescue of these detainees and impress upon India to treat them as per the charter laid by the international community.

Muhammad Ashraf Sehrai also condemned slapping of draconian Public Safety Act on Hurriyat activists Imtiyaz Ahmed Mir, Rashid Ahmed Khan, Ajaz Ahmed Khan, Ghulam Qadir Rathar, Abdullah Jaanwari and continued illegal detention of Khurshid Ahmed Dar, Aijaz Ahmed Bahroo, Muhammad Sidiq Loorhama and Tanveer Ahmed.

Leave a Reply

Kashmir Media Service | Login